“You can’t wait for inspiration. You have to go after it with a club.” — Jack London

Charlie Fink
1 min readOct 5, 2017

Oddly, it didn’t occur to me to start writing until Gary Vaynerchuk suggested it to me several years ago. The process has re-connected me to my interests and my passions. It has rejuvenated me. My other inspiration was the Broadway musical “Hamilton”. At his lowest point, Hamilton vows to “write my way out”. That resonated for me. And, you’re right, the greatest benefit is connecting to a community. Even though I spend much of my time alone, I feel like I am part of something much bigger than myself. Isn’t that what we all crave? I hope people follow your advice, though it’s admittedly hard to know where to start, and what to write about (hint: write about what you know, and stay in your swim lane). It’s an investment of time. Not just writing time. Thinking and researching time. It takes practice. Think of it this way: when’s the best time to plant a tree? Twenty years ago. When’s the second best time? Now.

--

--

Charlie Fink

Consultant, Columnist, Author, Adjunct, Covering AI, XR, Metaverse for Forbes